The Building

15 November 2014, 9:30am to 5:30pm, Wood Auditorium, Columbia University GSAPP

Ever since the theoretical turn of the 1960s, right through to the present, the status of the architectural object in the sphere of history, theory and criticism keeps taking on more and more forms. Whether as the reification of power structures, as a facilitator of participatory processes, as the locus of phenomenological content, as the hypostatization of terms pertaining to other systems of thought, as a vehicle to reflect upon unmediated practices, as a catalyst to investigate the psychology of perception, as amenable to mirror processes in the natural world—its increasing epistemological diversification is an index for the growing sophistication of our field. Within this tendency, however, the object emerges more often as a medium through which to tap into another domain—if not as altogether absent—than it does as the ultimate realm of research in its own right.

This event suggests that discussions taking the object as their primary concern can today extend the bounds of possibility for the production of discursive knowledge in a substantial fashion. In order to do so, it invokes the architectural object par excellence—the building. A number of historians, theorists, architects and PhD candidates, from both Europe and the US, have been asked to choose a building, built or designed within the last 25 years, which they can show embodies a historically substantial contribution in terms of a particular design aspect or a concept relevant to the reading of buildings in general. In addition, they have been invited to speculate on the possibility for such a design technique or concept to become the seed of a metadisciplinary theoretical framework. The first installment of this event took place at the Architectural Association on June 2, 2014.

With Stan Allen, Jose Aragüez, Vera Bühlmann, Marta Caldeira, Juan Antonio Cortés, Marc Frochaux, Gabriela García de Cortázar, Francisco González de Canales, Costandis Kizis, Sylvia Lavin, Mary McLeod, Michael Meredith, Joan Ockman, Jorge Otero-Pailos, Sophia Psarra, Amanda Reeser Lawrence, Etien Santiago, Alexandra Vougia, Enrique Walker, Aaron White, Michael Young and Alejandro Zaera-Polo.

Open event. With the support of Columbia University. Organized by Jose Araguez with Aaron White.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s